How Reiki Makes You More Aware Of…

Since I began studying Reiki (and it is a path to follow not a course to take and be done with), I’ve noticed that I’ve had an increase in my awareness.

For example, today I was upset at a reaction a friend of mine had to something I said. I fell back into my old patterns of trying to defend my statement and explain myself and–basically to be understood. Perhaps my terminology wasn’t exact. However, the conversation left me feeling vulnerable and on the defensive.

As we got out of the car at our second destination, I noticed how I’d just went driving back into those old ruts in the road of my past behavior and I stopped. I mentally repeated the five precepts taught by Mikao Usui and my teachers:

Just for today,

I will not anger

I will not worry

I will be kind to my neighbor and all living things

I will be true to myself and to others

I will be thankful for all of my many blessings

I felt the need to repeat the one regarding anger. And after the third repetition, I noticed that all of the people walking out of the store that we were about to enter were smiling. They all radiated such happiness. They glowed with it. And, my ire just faded. It was gone.

After all, what would I rather see in the world?

smiley-1041796_1920

I gave thanks for my blessings and realized that I wanted to be one of those people with a smile on her face. So, I smiled and I felt like smiling. People smiled back and the conversation, or argument, with my friend was dropped.

Ultimately, it was silly to feel angry. That was my old self–someone needing to be right and needing to be understood.

I stayed in the moment of feeling good and smiling. And, soon after, my friend had forgotten about that conversation too and we were discussing things to buy at the grocery.

During that entire shopping trip (except one very grumpy person), everyone turning down the aisles or that I encountered was smiling and seemingly happy about being there.

Reiki helps me daily to become aware of not only my world but my attitudes towards the world around me. What you put out into the world comes back to you. I would much rather put out happy, smiling vibes than grumpy ones. Wouldn’t you?

Leave a Reply

