Trust is difficult, but …

Today was my first day back at work. It began well. I got filled in on what I missed for the nearly three months I was away on family leave. And, I started my day.

All continued fairly well until lunch time. I was walking to my car when I got hit with the worst migraine I’ve had in a long time. It washed over me with pain, sensitivity to light and sound, heightened sense of smell and nausea. I made it to my car, got inside and opened all the windows. Luckily there was a very cool breeze. For me, cold always helps relieve the symptoms.

There was no way I could work with this level of migraine and also no way I could ask to go home on my first day back. I tilted my seat back and performed self Reiki. I silently begged for it to work. I remembered to have the attitude of gratitude. I silently recited the five precepts when my mind was brought back to the severity of my symptoms. And after a few minutes, I remembered to give up the outcome to the Reiki and to know that somehow it would all be ok.

I finished the self session still feeling pretty bad. I began to question the Reiki. Why wasn’t it working? Then I realized I wasn’t really trusting it. You see, even now trust is difficult for me. Sometimes, though, trust is what is needed to get to where you want to be. So I reminded myself to trust. I accepted that Reiki would work and I rested for the remainder if my lunch time.

When it was time to go back, I worked to maintain that trust even though in that moment I felt sick. I began working despite the nausea. Gradually the pain and visual and auditory sensitivities dissipated. The nausea lasted longer but vanished as I went about my day. By the evening there was no trace of migraine–which was unusual as there is always a haze or brain fog following each episode. In fact, I felt great. And that good feeling has lasted all evening.

Reiki always works for our highest good. The divine energy gives us what is best for us. Trusting in that helps it work better and faster.

Leave a Reply

